Pomelo

What it is:

The pomelo is very similar to a grapefruit, but much larger and with a milder taste. Pomelos can be as large as a foot in diameter and up to 25 pounds! It is a fruit native to Malaysia, but is also cultivated in California and Israel.

What it tastes like:

When I first saw the pomelo in the grocery store, I immediately thought that I HAD to try it. I had done some research already and knew it was very similar to a grapefruit, but I had hopes that it would taste another way, because it looked so much different.  When I tried the pomelo, it looked and smelt a lot like a grapefruit.The taste can range from a sweet-spicy taste to a tangy and tart taste, with the one I tried being more tangy and tart.

Personally, I didn’t like the pomelo very much because of the taste. I’m not a huge grapefruit fan as it is, so I can only eat it sometimes and when I do, I have to sprinkle a bit of sugar on it to off-set the bitter taste!

Cutting the pomelo was quite time consuming. It was easy to peel the flesh away from the inside fruit, but it was all the cutting of the little pieces that took the longest!

How to cut it:

1. Cut a bit of the flesh off the top, until you can just see the inside of the fruit.

2. Cut channels into the flesh, dividing the fruitinto quarters.

3. Using your fingers, pull the thick flesh away from the inside fruit.

                   

4. Gently pull the fruit apart, breaking it into halves.

5. Pull the pieces apart, just like an orange, and cut off any remaining flesh or skin.

6. ENJOY!

2 responses

  1. I am not at all familiar with the pomelo, but if they are like grrapefruit, I would definitely like to try one! I like the pictures illustrating what the fruit looks like as you cut into it.

  2. I am definitely familiar with the pomelo! It was like a treat! My parents would buy one once in awhile or I would have it at my grandparent’s house. Perhaps the one you tried was not very good but pomelos can be pretty sweet too! And it doesn’t taste too sour! I really enjoy them! They are one of my favourite fruits!

Leave a comment