White Asparagus

While asparagus may not be strange to everyone, I was sure surprised to see white asparagus at the grocery store! So naturally, I bought it to test it out.

What I found out was that white asparagus is actually grown with a mound of dirt around the emerging stalks to deprive the stalks of any light; this is the very reason why the vegetable is white in appearance.

I wasn’t entirely sure how to cook white asparagus, or if it had a different taste than the normal green asparagus, so I did some searching to see what I could find! I found the recipe posted below, it was really simple and it turned out great!

The white asparagus has a milder taste than green asparagus does and I think I would still prefer the green asparagus over the white, but it was still fun to find out this way! I’d be curious to find out how the white asparagus would taste with other recipes; I wanted to try a recipe with balsamic vinegar that I would normally use on green asparagus but I was a little bit afraid of how the colouring would turn out!

Let me know what you think, or if you try a different recipe, how it turns out!

White Asparagus Recipe:

Ingredients List:

  • White asparagus
  • 6 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 clove of garlic (chopped)
  • Seasonings (salt, pepper, thyme, etc)

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Brush a baking sheet with 1 to 2 tbsp. of olive
    oil.
  3. Wash the asparagus. Pat them dry with paper towels
    and trim the end of the stalks
  4. Arrange the asparagus spears on the baking sheet.
    Do not let them overlap.
  5. Mix olive oil, lemon juice and seasonings to pour
    over the asparagus. This will impart flavor and keep the vegetable from drying
    out while it roasts. Whisk 3 or 4 tbsp. of olive oil, 2 tbsp of lemon juice, 1
    clove of garlic, and salt and pepper. Add other seasonings or herbs, based on
    your preference.
  6. Drizzle the olive oil mixture over the stalks. Do
    not coat the asparagus entirely. You just need them to stay moist while
    cooking.
  7. Place the pan in the oven. Roast the asparagus for
    15 minutes or until the stalks are tender. Check the vegetable periodically to
    make sure it is not getting brown on the bottom. Roll the stalks over if they
    start to brown too much on one side.

 

Before putting the white asparagus in the oven:

The finished product:

2 responses

  1. oooooooo YUM! The final product looks tastey Kristine! I will have to try these white asparagus. I always walk by them in the grocery store but if you say they taste more mild than the regular asparagus then perhaps I will prefer them!

    Can’t wait to see what else you try… heres a thought… orange brocoli? I saw some in Zehrs the other day!

    Katie Neil

  2. I have always been curious about trying white asparagus, but never worked up the courage. After reading the blog, and looking at the simple recipe, I think I will have to try out the white asparagus once and for all.

Leave a comment