Dragon Fruit!

What better way to start than with Dragon fruit?

I was extremely excited to be trying out this fruit, because to me it looks so fascinating. When you see it, it’s just a big pink fruit with strange green stems all over it and really makes you wonder…what is that?!

I found the dragon fruit to be a very mild tasting fruit, but also found out that it is packed full of nutrients like vitamin C and antioxidants!

The inside of the fruit consists of a white flesh that is spotted with little black seeds, and almost looks like a white kiwi. The flesh and the seeds are the edible parts; you do not want to be eating the pieces of the pink skin because they are not healthy to ingest.

I decided to experiment with the dragon fruit a bit and make a smoothie with it! It added a great texture to the smoothie, but because it has such a mild flavour, it did not contribute much to the taste of it. The smoothie still turned out to be delicious, but it would have even been better if there had been a little extra flavour in it…maybe next time I’ll try it with a different kind of yogurt!

The first step I had to do was find out how to cut this thing!

How to cut a dragon fruit:

1. Cut the dragon fruit in half vertically.

2. Take a spoon and run it along the inner edge of the peel to separate the white flesh from the peel.

3. Scoop out the white flesh and cut off any pieces of pink that may be on it.

4. Cut up the fruit whatever way you want! (I cut it into cubes)

Try out this easy recipe to increase the flavour and enjoy it in another way!

You will need:

  • Dragon fruit, cubed – 1/2 a large fruit
  • 1 banana, chopped
  • Blueberry yogurt (or any flavour) – 200 ml

What to do:

  • Simple blend the dragon fruit, banana and yogurt together!
  • Serve immediately

The finished product:

Try out a dragon fruit and let me know what you think!

12 responses

  1. Oh man, it’s the Dragonfruit! 😀 I tried buying one of these once… but I got it and had noooo idea what to do with the thing! I haven’t bought one since because I just thought to myself that, if I buy one, I still don’t know what to do with it and I’ll just end up throwing it out. So this post is pretty cool! I’ll have to keep an eye out for them the next time I go shopping and try your smoothie out! 🙂

  2. Kristine! This is such an amazing idea for a blog. I love it! I agree that dragon fruit is one of those fruits I avoid in the grocery store because it is so weird looking. Although it does look pretty, I would have no idea what to do with it. Thanks for posting what you did! I am totally going to buy one next time I’m at the store.

    A couple of questions:

    Did you happen to taste the dragon fruit before putting it in the smoothie? Did it have an extremely mild taste then too?

    Also, do you happen to know why the skin is unhealthy to digest?

    • Hey Michelle!

      I did taste the dragon fruit before I put it in the smootie, and it did have an extremely mild taste then too. I think the best thing to do with it would be to put it in a smoothie or a fruit salad or something to have other flavours with it!

      I’m not really sure why the skin is unhealthy to disgest, but it was what most of the sites and recipe said! I tried looking this up specifically and found a few conflicting ideas, but for the most part they all just said the edible part of the fruit was the white flesh and seeds…I figure it’s better to be safe and not eat it!

      Hope this helps!

  3. I will have to try Dragon Fruit now- its always fun trying new things; this is such a great idea for a blog topic!
    The dragon fruit looks interesting thats forsure! I love that you incorporated it into a smoothy! Also I would be tempted to see what the skin tastes like just because it is sooo vibrant! I am looking forward to follow you and see all the fruits that you try 🙂

  4. Hey Kristine!
    Neat post! This reminds me of the time I made my mom buy me a dragon fruit at the grocery store because it looked weird and it was super expensive. I let it get too ripe and it tasted terrible. Maybe I should try it again in your smoothie! 🙂 Looking forward to more posts!

    Sarah Walkom

  5. I’ve also always wanted to try a dragon fruit as it looks so fun from the outside! I never have as I didn’t really know what to do with it. I definitely am going to buy one and try out this smoothie as it looks delicious!

  6. Kristine! What a great idea for a blog haha. I always chicken out buying these exotic foods, despite my curiosity. Tomorrow is discount day at Zehr’s for students so I will definitely pick one of these fruits up! I’m going to try this shake! Its so pretty looking and I’m glad to know its healthy.

  7. I have always wanted to try dragon fruit! It’s always such a mystery sitting on the counter in the grocery store. Now I know how to cut and prepare it! Thanks a bunch!

  8. Hey Kristine! Your blog is very intriguing as I am a huge fan of trying new exotic foods myself. I have tried Dragon fruit before and agree that it doesn’t really have much flavour. I like to put it in a fruit salad for presentation and eye appeal as it looks different from any other fruit. Can’t wait to see what other fruits you decide to try.

  9. I bought one of these last year when my roommates and I were trying out the odd fruit at the grocery store. I think this is the one I though tasted a bit like a kiwi, but more mild. I am not sure if we ended up eating the whole thing. I think your smoothy idea would have been great to try!

Leave a comment